Nailed it!

Yep, I totally nailed it this week.  Okay, mostly nailed it. I just have one teeny thing I need to fix.  Just one.

Oh!  And I have pictures!  Yea for pictures!  First, I did finish my April UFO.  I thought I would be nice and take a picture of it with just the first border.  It’s not really doing anything for me at this point….but wait!

IMG_1407

Now, here it is with the indigo border.  Bam!  Finishes the look and made me fall in love with it all over again.  I’ll have to admit here that I was a little envious of the one that Sandra Dee was starting with her rabbit panel.  Seriously, hers will be absolutely gorgeous.  I can’t wait to show you pictures, but you will have to wait until the next retreat!

IMG_1421

And a couple of close-ups just because, well, more pictures!

IMG_1415

IMG_1416

So, whew!  I’ve managed to keep up on this whole UFO thing.  I also got started on the one for this month.  Here is the pattern.  It is from Details By Diane.  She does a lot of stained glass looking quilts but without using bias tape.  If you aren’t familiar with her patterns, you can check her out here.  Anyway, I had started this one a while ago and I wanted to use my Oriental prints.

IMG_1429

Here are the blocks.  Aren’t they cool?  all I have to do now is zig zag around each of them.  Today I was able to get through 2 1/2 of them.  I didn’t have much time today.  I also had to send my husband out for black thread because apparently I didn’t have any, well, he was already out so it was just one more stop for him.  Can you believe that?  A quilter with no black thread!  I had black hand quilting thread and black upholstery thread and I have no idea where that came from.

IMG_1428

Here is one of the blocks in progress.  See?  She makes it really easy, and no mine are not perfect but that’s okay.  It’s an area where I could use a little more practice.

IMG_1425  IMG_1427

Once I get through the stitching it’s time for the sashing.  That is a little bit harder of a decision.  I went through my stash to see what I could use without buying anything and I came up with two possibilities.  Inez and my husband voted for the first one.  I have not made up my mind just yet but figured one will be the sashing and the other the cornerstones.  If you would like to cast a vote, please do in the comments!

IMG_1430            IMG_1432

Did I not promise lots of pictures?  Don’t worry, I still have a couple more.

I even took a few moments to work on the cat appliqué block.  See?  No more pins.  The head is completely sewn down.  Of course I still need to make a decision on the eyes… that’s okay though…each part gets me a little bit closer to finished.  I still don’t think it needs the tongue. Just an eye and the border.

IMG_1405

Now for the part where there is a teeny problem.  It’s with the paper pieced star block of the month.  Now I know it looks like it’s good, but it doesn’t lay flat.  Like, going to have puckers when it gets quilted doesn’t lay flat.  So, I haven’t added the outside border pieces.  I did take it apart once and when I put it back together it still didn’t lay flat.  At that point I just walked away.  Something is going on with it and I’ve put too much work into this block to try to fudge it later.  I’ll have to go back and do some more work on it, but I think I’ll wait a few more days…or maybe until I finish the May block.  Will see how it goes this week….but I’m betting I won’t touch it…at least not yet.  Maybe next week.

IMG_1404

Yes, my feet are still on fire! I managed another whole week of 7k steps and so this week I’m bumping it up to 8k.  Yahoo!  I figure I’ll be on 8k for a couple of weeks and then I’ll make that jump to 10k which isn’t feeling so elusive anymore.

Now, it’s time to keep moving forward!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

