Keeping up.

It’s the first of the month, so you know what that means!  We got a new block for our star block of the month and it’s time to tackle another UFO.  I did get my printing done for the new block but I had a little trouble that the printer was cutting off the top a little so I think I’ll need to reprint part.  Today I did pull out another UFO and guess what!  It’s almost the same as last time.  It’s another Joann’s precut block of the month that I had picked up on clearance.  Yep, I still don’t like the precuts but I’m going to stick to it and get it done.  This time I do have the setting kit so I should be able to make it all the way to a complete top.  At least that is what I am aiming for this time.  I had already completed the first 4 blocks and today I added the next 2.  With any luck I can get another 2 done tomorrow.  Of course I need to see about that paper pieced block.

All of the above means that I will have to put back on hold my current project.  I am making progress on it though.  I have 58 of the 97 sections done with 20 more in progress.  I should be able to get those completed fairly soon and I have to admit that I am pretty excited about moving on to the 3rd section as I only need 54 and then I can start assembling the quilt top.  What I am not looking forward to is tearing the paper off.

I also took some time over this last week to put some things away in my craft room.  When my aunt passed away just over a year ago, I acquired all of her crafting supplies which also mingled in some of my grandmother’s supplies.  I spent most of that time organizing the beading supplies.  My aunt would make beaded ornaments so I have lots of sequins and styrofoam forms and pins and assorted beads.  My grandmother crocheted bead rope necklaces so there are lots of seed beads and pearl beads in assorted colors plus some started necklaces.  I’m almost wondering if these are coming back into style…especially since I have quite a few that are complete in assorted colors.  Not sure what I am talking about?  You can find one here.  Of course now I feel the need to find how to finish them.  Add that to my list of things to do…..I don’t know that it will make my UFO list for this year but maybe if I find some spare time somewhere I’ll see if I can figure them out.  I’m sure I should be able to figure it out.

In case you were wondering, the beading is only the tip of the iceberg.  I have a couple of tubs of yarn, boxes of plastic canvas and patterns as well as quilling and stamped embroidery on table linens/pillowcases.  I’m sure there is more that I am forgetting, but that is really the bulk of it.  I just wish I had more time to dig into doing some of it.  I was actually thinking that Small Blonde (having turned 7) may be able to work on some plastic canvas with a yarn needle.  It may be fun for him to pick his own colors and try his own designs or see if I can teach him to start reading a pattern.  I think that I will wait until spring break or maybe even summer vacation so we have more time without having to worry about bedtime and homework.  I hope that he finds it interesting.  I guess we will see how it goes!

Well, tomorrow is a new day and I’m hoping that it will bring some time to get another block or two completed for my latest UFO.    I hope you are making progress on yours as well.

Leave a Reply

