And we find ourselves here once again….

Ahh, the ringing in of a New Year.  We always find new beginnings so full of promise, don’t we? Last year I likened our new years resolutions to staging our own personal revolution.  I still like thinking of it that way, staging revolutions against our bad habits.  I wasn’t so resolute on my revolutions last year and like so many others I’m hoping to be more resolute this year.

Last year I also tried a new habits challenge by updating the blog daily for 21 days.  I certainly had a lot of fun doing it, but realistically I was not able to keep up such a pace.  So, we shall try once again, only this time rather than daily we will see if I can manage it on a weekly basis.  I’m feeling fairly optimistic and I hope you are too.

Why am I feeling so optimistic?  Easy, New Beginnings feel so full of promise.  Why is that?  Is it because all we can see is the potential?  After all a New Beginning is nothing but potential.  Potential for ourselves, potential for those around us, and potential for the projects we start.

I do have a good start on a new project AND managed to spend some time on a project that I’ve not been able to work on very much.  I am very excited about both.

Let me share a bit about the new project.  If you would like to play along, you can find it here.  It is a paper-pieced block of the month.  It is very pretty and challenging and I am looking forward to next month’s block.  Be sure to check out her website.  Anyway, I learned about it from my sister-in-law on Facebook.  As we began to make plans, Blanche and Wanda took notice.  Next came Hattie and Mabel and Inez.  Now we have a lovely little Facebook group to cheer each other on as we work through these stained glass star blocks.  Back to the reason for my optimism.  I finished my block.  That’s right.  It’s January 4th and I finished the block already.  Yea me!  Did you want to see it?    Of course I’ll share.

January

So, as you can probably guess I am riding my newfound optimism as far as I possibly can. I’m looking forward to seeing how the rest of the Monkey’s blocks look and what color combinations they choose. Honestly, I didn’t even realize that I was gaining some momentum until I stepped back from this block.  It was at that point that I realized that I was making some progress in a few areas.  Now it is time to feed this momentum and see just what I’m capable of.

I did use my momentum to pull out another project and do a few seams.  After all a few seams here and there really add up quickly.  I’m trying to make it so that I do a few every night.  Except for Mondays.  Mondays I should be here.  See you next week!

Leave a Reply

