Don’t worry!

I didn’t spend all that time making sure I kept up with this only to abandon it later.  I don’t have much to report however.  Not much quilting going on the last few days and todays crafting was Lego’s.

It’s okay, you can laugh.  Small Blonde is into Lego’s.  Not heavily, but he does enjoy building.  To that end he has a “few” Lego sets that he has put together.  However, he has modified, disassembled, dropped, and otherwise mangled a few of them.  Honestly, I was getting kind of tired of stepping on the loose pieces in his room so I told him before he started any new kits that he needed to get the other ones put back together or put away.  I also told him I would help him.  So, today we began The Great Lego Reassembly Project.  I’m not sure how many we need to go through, but today we finished two and started a third.  He was disappointed when it was time to put them away, but we will continue to work on them and I’m sure that we will get them all straightened out before too long.  So far we are only missing 1 piece.  So far….

Anyway, my crafting has consisted of finishing up an afghan and starting something I haven’t done in a while.  Needlepoint.  I lost my Aunt around Thanksgiving last year and I laid claim to her craft supplies.  There are not many crafters in my family so I figure that I will share whatever I can finish of what she has started.  I think I have now exceeded my life expectancy to craft project ratio.  In the latest bundle of supplies, I found a needlepoint stocking that was barely started.  This became my project to take with me to Small Blonde’s Tae Kwon Do lessons.  I like to have something to do so the teacher can teach and I don’t feel obligated to get up and correct his behavior.  You know, because he is 6 and he has friends in class and he gets excited about things.  It has become my quiet time and I get a chance to work for an hour or so uninterrupted.  At first I brought crochet projects with me and when we first started I would be surrounded by boys during the break asking me lots of questions and telling me about their art.  Honestly, I loved every minute of those conversations.  Now they are used to me so it’s not such a novelty to see me working although they do still come to see when I have a new or different project.  The needlepoint will be much easier to cart back and forth and is easy to work on so we will see how long it takes me to get it done.

Or how soon I break down and start working on it outside of class.

Leave a Reply

