Now getting back on track!

As promised I am back to keep this 21 day challenge on track.

I actually got to spend some time in my sewing room today! I didn’t get a whole lot done, but I made it in there. What did I do? I did some trimming. I have some block units that I made too large…go figure. So, they need to all be trimmed down so I can get the blocks assembled. It feels like it will take forever but I’m sure that I will be able to knock it out during Little Red’s next nap time. At least that’s what I’m hoping for. Then I can get my machine out and get to sewing.  It is one of the wedding quilts so I am a little anxious to get back to work on it.

I do have one upcoming project that I am fairly excited about. Small Blonde and I will be getting ready to start his first quilt this summer, and by first quilt I mean first quilt that he makes.  I’m not sure how it will go, but he is pretty excited. I’m hoping that the process will go well for him. He is 6, so he may get easily frustrated and I have to remember to trust him (not necessarily with the rotary cutter).  I suppose it would be more accurate to say I need to remember to give him a chance.  It will be a learning experience for both of us.

What are we going to do? Well, at our Guild’s last quilt show we looked at quilts and shopped the vendors. He picked out his own fabric, I was just the bankroll. When we get started I’ll post some pictures of our progress. For now you’ll have to imagine…. I should mention that Small Blonde has a fascination with cats. House cats certainly, but mainly with the large African cats and cheetahs in particular. At the very first booth we visited he found a panel of African animals (including the cheetah of course!) and was disappointed that the male lion was also included (because he just doesn’t like them – you know 6-year-old logic and all). Of course we bought it. At the subsequent booths he searched for animal prints and as he was carrying his purchases he also talked to each of the vendors and showed them everything he had purchased from previous vendors. Most were enchanted with him, after all how often do they see a young boy picking out coordinating fabrics for a project?

No, seriously, he was coordinating his fabrics as we went along. I guess that comes from growing up in a quilting household. Color has always been important and he’s been around the craft since day 1 and, the best part I think, he is proud of quilting.  For  a long time he coordinated his socks to the color of his shirt. I know that won’t last forever, but it was interesting to watch him apply what he was learning about coordinating.  He has watched me pull together fabrics for a project and has even joined in.  I think it has been a good experience for him and I really am so excited to see how this project will go.  I believe that he will be extraordinarily proud of his work. I know I will be.

To that end I will be drafting up a fairly simple pattern and we will more than likely need to visit a quilt shop or two to round out what we have. School is out in another week so we should be getting started on this fairly soon.  Stay tuned, I’m sure that it will be interesting!

2 thoughts on “Now getting back on track!

  1. Sounds like a great project, I’m looking forward to seeing the progress!

Leave a Reply

