Doing my best

To keep the Revolution going!  Big Kudos to Blanche for successfully staging her Revolutions last year and continuing with the good fight this year!  I hope my other monkeys are finding success in their endeavors.

Now, however, it’s time to get back to the quilting stuff.  After all we have retreat in another month and I need to be way further along than I am right now.  Why do I say that?  Well, I have 3, count them THREE wedding quilts that need to be finished.  One is very close.  Very Very Close.  By very close I mean that I only have a 2 block to fix and then the pieced border and assembly followed by the quilting and binding.  That wedding has already happened so I’m really feeling the crunch on getting it done.

My next quilt is in the process of being cut.  I still have a long way to go plus it’s paper pieced so I also need to make copies of the pattern.  I was also hoping that I could get some of them pieced before getting to retreat.   It is fairly cool if I do say so myself.  It is colors that I will describe as sea glass and is a combination of snails trail and storm at sea.  I’m pretty excited to see how this one comes out.

The last one that I need for a wedding hasn’t been determined yet.  By that I mean I am having trouble trying to decide on a pattern.  I did have it narrowed down to two, but after getting a look at the registry, I’m not sure that their color scheme will work with either pattern.  I’ll need to sleep on that for a bit.  Hopefully not too long because it’s the next wedding up and I need to get it done!  No stress there….

How are you coming on your projects?  I’m hoping this will be a good spring-board to continue getting projects done!  Don’t worry, I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “Doing my best

  1. Hattie says:

    Hi all, it’s Hattie.

    ….Doing My Best… That’s a good way to look at it. As quilters and crafters, we sometimes carry around some extra weight – The weight we put on our shoulders of unfinished projects. My 2015 Revolution is to enjoy the process of my work. I am the only one who really cares when something is finished. Those who receive quilts from me are thrilled, they couldn’t care less that their wedding quilt was done just before they announced they were having their first baby. (just happened to me)

    My 2015 Revolutions all have to do with ridding myself of weight: the weight of guilt about unfinished projects; the weight of a large house and the unneeded stuff in it that keeps me from having time to concentrate on what really feeds my soul; the weight of having my quilting and other things in no real order or central location.

    So, there you have it. We’ll see how my year goes. I’m sure my monkeys will have lots of good advice on all areas of my Revolutions.

    Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

