It’s time once again!

I bet you are thinking that I’m talking about retreat again.  Well, it is time (or past time) for us to get our registration forms in.

It’s time (once again) for us to stage our Revolutions!  How did you do last year?  I will admit that I did not do very well.  I am optimistic (as we all are at the beginning of the year) that I will make more headway.  My goals this year?  I’m betting that they will be similar to ones that you may have.

First, I would like to lose some weight.  Preferably somewhere where I won’t find it again.  I think my revolution is off to a good start as we cleared out the area where the elliptical stands and I’ve managed to get on it 7 times in 2 weeks for 15 minutes a pop.  I’m not really worried about how long I’m on it at this point.  I’m more concerned about creating the habit.  So far so good.  At least the initial skirmish has gone in my favor.

Second, I would like to be more organized.  I feel like this is the most important one for me and the one that I struggle with the most.  I will admit that our initial skirmish has not gone in my favor and now I am circling some  blogs for inspiration and getting back in the habit of making lists so I can find a direction to go in and feel some accomplishment when checking off those items finished.  At least that makes me feel like I am more in control of this revolution, but we shall see how things proceed.

Thirdly, I would like to get some UFO’s completed!  I won’t dazzle you with how many I have.  I suppose it would be fair to say that I don’t really know how many there are.  I’m also not going to run up and count them because I fear that would be too depressing.  I haven’t helped my case either by having 3 projects that are on deadlines.  One of which the deadline has passed…..yikes!  I’m getting close though.  Blocks are finished just need to put them together, add the border, and quilt.  The other two haven’t been started just yet.

That’s really it for me.  Three things.  It doesn’t feel like much, but then I don’t want to stage a revolution on too many fronts.  Of course part of being more organized means posting here more.  Yea!  I know you are terribly excited about that.  I know I am.  After all, you just never know what we’ll talk about next!

I’m curious to see how whether the Monkeys have staged any revolutions of their own.  I hope you are also staging your own revolution and I wish you well on them!

One thought on “It’s time once again!

  1. Blanche says:

    Can you believe an entire year has gone by since we made our initial revolutions!!! Wow! I am satisfied with the progress I made on my revolutions last year, but there is still more to be done on them. So here is my list for this year:

    1. Continue to lose weight. Last year I dropped about 25 pounds overall…I had lost a bit more, but the holidays and a nasty lingering cold conspired to interrupt my exercise plans and allow me to put a few pounds back on. Now it is time to start again, and my goal is another 20-25 pounds this year. I need to be diligent about exercising and watching what I eat, and get back to using the app on my phone to track things because it really helps me keep track of calories.

    2. Continue to declutter our home. This is an ongoing process…we donated and sold a fair number of items last year, but there is still so much more to go. We still have boxes of it things we inherited that I will need to sell, either on eBay or at local events, as well as excess stuff we need to donate away.

    3. Build my Long Arm Quilting Business. This is my new adventure for 2015. In November 2014, I purchased a previously loved Gammill Statler Stitcher on a 14″ table and set up a quilting studio in my home. I have my business name – “Y’s Designs” – and my tax ID and EIN. I’ve had several customers in the first 2 months, and am hoping to have more as the year goes on. I love doing both hand guided and computerized quilting…they both have their place in the quilting world. The computerized designs are beautiful and precise and intricate, while the hand guided are more whimsical and fun. I’m very good at sit down free motion quilting and computers, so I am picking up the long arm skills fairly easily. In addition to paying customers, I will be quilting for the Quilts of Valor Foundation – my husband and I are both veterans and believe in supporting these efforts. I’m excited to be starting this business and hope it grows. And if all goes as I hope, I am hoping to retire from my fulltime job and use my time for quilting and other things I enjoy.

    4. I want to continue to be positive and happy in my life. Last year, I started out by keeping a diary of things I was thankful for each day, and it worked to focus my thoughts on the good things in my life. This year, I want to continue and make more of my life exist in the happy zone. Life is too short for dwelling on negativity.

    Blanche

Leave a Reply

