Doing my best to Keep On Track

That’s right, I’m doing my darndest to keep up with this blog better than I have recently.  It’s always easy after retreat because we have so much material!  The bad thing is that I take notes and then don’t write enough detail so I have good stories for you when we return to our normal lives.

So, let’s see if I can make this retreat a little better by keeping better notes.  After all, we are gearing up to head to head back to retreat and this time we have added in an extra day.  Yeehaw!  I know, right?  It’s like a miracle or something.  The plans are already flying….  I think that is something that adds to the excitement of retreat, all the anticipation of seeing each other and knowing that we have this sisterhood.

I feel bad that I don’t have a whole lot of quilt related things to write about.  I haven’t had a whole lot of time to do any sewing.  I’m looking forward to being able to really get back to it soon, and I don’t mean just at retreat.  I think that is something that most moms with young children struggle with.  After all, we craft because it’s cheaper than therapy and after dealing with the small people all day we probably need therapy.   I thought during nap times I would be able to get into my sewing room, but Little Red has proved to not be a terribly good napper so that theory kinda went by the wayside.   Ah well, that is the way it is.  After all, we always have retreat and believe me I’ll be cramming as much sewing in there as I possibly can!

So, what will I be taking to retreat?  Well, that is a very good question.  I’ve got some block of the month kits I’ve picked up from Joann’s so I’ll grab one of those to go with me.  Have you done any of these?  They have the fabric pre-cut so really all you have to do is sew it together.  I would like to say that this is a completely wonderful thing.  To be honest, it’s more of an okay thing.  Sometimes the fabric is not as good a quality…like the really thin stuff or the stuff that’s over dyed and stiff.  However, it’s been a while since I’ve tried one so I am curious to see if the new one is the same or better than the old ones.  The die cutting also leaves a little to be desired.  I would rather cut the pieces myself…then any error is on me.  I’m not really keen on having an error right off the bat where I have to skinny up the seams from the beginning.  I guess, ultimately it is what it is and knowing that I am still ready to jump in and give it a go.

They are great for sliding in while you are chain piecing other projects.  Speaking of other projects, I have  a wedding quilt that I need to get going on… and another quilt for a relative in need, and I’ve put this one off for a while.  I also have a quilt for a friend and a quilt for my brother that are both long overdue.  Of course this doesn’t touch any of the multitude of UFO’s that I have sitting around my craft room.  I suppose I had better get cracking on picking a pattern for those two quilts that I need to get going on…since I also need to make a stop at the fabric store to get some supplies.

Well, I suppose I had better go.  Just when I think that I don’t have anything to talk about I find that I am rambling on after all.

Maybe tomorrow I can get one of those past retreat reports completed and ready for some reading.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

