The third time we went to visit Blanche

We did manage one more group visit to Blanche’s home.  This time we convinced Vera to join us!  We also had a running gag through our email about being able to read each other’s thoughts.  After all we were spending a bit of time together and emailing.  So unbeknownst to Blanche, Ruby and I decided that what we needed were aluminum foil hats to block our brain waves so Blanche wouldn’t know what we were plotting.  Hattie and Vera were a bit surprised when the aluminum foil came out as we were in the car and heading to our favorite quilt shop meeting place.  Hattie was completely game.  Vera took a little convincing.  I’m sure you can picture this – three monkeys in a car wearing aluminum foil hats speeding down a highway and one monkey with her hands over her face so as not to be associated with the other three.  Although that is rather difficult since we are all in an enclosed space.  We did get lots of stares and some honks as we made our way down the highway.  Eventually Vera caved and the rest of us cheered that she was going to join us in our foil frivolity.

We managed to arrive at the quilt shop before Blanche and took turns on look out so we would know when Blanche arrived.  When she got there we disappeared into the sale room to see if she could find us.  I’m sure she could hear the giggling, but I’m not sure that the shocked looks of the store clerks were registering for her.  I’m sure we just provided more stories for their customers and they probably wonder where we have been.

One of the most exciting things about this trip was the opening of a new yarn shop next door.  I love to crochet.  Hattie loves to crochet and knit.  Of course we did wear our aluminum hats when we went over there to check it out.  When we walked in the door, we were greeted by a gentleman who said, “I was hoping you would come over here.  I wanted to ask you why you were wearing tinfoil hats.”  Much hilarity ensued during the explanation and Hattie and I enjoyed ourselves shopping in a new yarn shop.  I got my first set of knitting needles and some self patterning yarn.  Of course I have yet to do anything with it.

I am sorry to report that we did not get any pictures in the car of us in our foil hats.  Sorry to disappoint.

From there we went on to Blanche’s house and this time she had some plans for us.  Of course we did some shopping while we were there because we now have some favorite places to go.  One such place is an Amish grocery store where we stock up on bulk spices and the like.  Vera was partial to the noodles.  Ruby also had a little surprise in store for us in the form of flamingo headbands!  We wore them while out shopping.

DSC_0004 DSC_0005 DSC_0007

Don’t ask about the leis. I’m not really sure how that came to be.  I can tell you that Ruby and I had gone to a rather large quilt show that attracts lots of folks.  In order for us to more easily find each other should we be separated, Ruby came up with the idea of the flamingo headbands.  I swear she could have brought a box of them and sold them at $5 each.  We would have shopped well on the proceeds from that!

Anyway!  Blanche had been doing some work with fabric dyeing and wanted to teach us how to do some ourselves.  We had a good time trying it!  Here’s some pictures of us and our handiwork.

DSC_0016 DSC_0025 DSC_0029

As always our time at Blanche’s was far too short, but we did have a good time.  No alcohol this time, at least for me as I was pregnant with the first small blonde boy.  Our ride home was uneventful compared to our ride down, but I suppose that was for the best.

The more time we seem to spend together, the more firmly entrenched with each other we become.  We have made our own little family with each other.  I believe that we are getting close to 10 years now.  I’m sure the others will correct me if I’m wrong.

I know you are probably itching to hear more from our most recent retreat.  I promise I will get to that soon.

Until next time, Happy Quilting!

 

Leave a Reply

