The Monkeys decide to give back.

I know, I have a lot of catching up to do. I totally missed blogging about the last retreat (not to mention the times in between) and now we are just getting back from our fall retreat. First thing I want to share though is something that happened at the retreat that we just returned from.

We decided to do a charity project. I know! I’m actually kind of excited about that. We all sat around talking (I know, big surprise there) and we got around to food pantries and the like (don’t ask me how we got there, I couldn’t explain it if I tried). Ultimately we decided to do a pillowcase project. We even volunteered our very own Sandra Dee to solicit businesses for pillows to go into the pillowcases.  She is really good at that kind of thing.  The big pull is that we are keeping everything local by giving back to the food pantries at our churches. The pattern we are using is a simple one – the hot dog pillowcase. They have good pictorial instructions here.  If you find their instructions confusing google “hot dog pillowcase” and you will get a whole bunch of results to peruse.  We do modify ours a tad…instead of 1/3 yard for band we use 1/4 yard.  This way when you purchase 1 yard of fabric you have enough for the body and a band.  Also, we tend to sew the band on before squaring up – we do that after completing the hot dog part.  Or at least I do.  They really are very simple to do.

However, it gets even better.  We are talking about doing this at our next retreat and including everyone.  I know, you are wondering aren’t we the only ones at the retreat?  Not by a long shot.  We aren’t looking to take up a whole day, just a few hours between lunch and  dinner on one of the days for anyone who wants to participate.  There are 3 of us that have sergers where we can serge the edges rather than doing the french seam.  Exciting isn’t it?  So now I need to go through my fabric and see what I have that can be used for the project.  Thus far I only have enough to do bands, but that’s okay.  Every little bit helps.  As we talked about this, our retreat coordinator came to talk to us some more and that is how the discussion opened up to include everyone in the building as well as having a designated time where we could all come together to get them done.  A goal of 100 pillowcases was talked about, as to whether or not that would be reasonable but I have a feeling that some may even want to do some ahead of time and bring some finished ones with them to the next retreat.  After all, we have a bit of time between then and now.

As we talked about the details of the project we decided that it would be prudent to purchase more than just children’s fabric.  After all, there may be some adults that are in need as well and they may not be so excited to have a My Little Pony pillowcase.  We are figuring that we will have a mixture of cottons and flannels to work with.

I would love to put in a pitch here that if you want to donate any fabric or pillows to leave me a comment and I will let you know where you can send them.  However, I am not going to do that.  Instead I am going to suggest that if you really like what we’re doing perhaps your local church or food pantry could use some pillow cases themselves.  Rather than sending money or fabric to our community, why not do the same thing in yours?  Sometimes one person can make a world of difference.  Ask around, you may have a friend who does some volunteering at the food pantry.  They may be able to give you some insight about your local food pantry.  Remember, even though they are a food pantry things like personal care items such as soap, toothpaste and toothbrushes are appreciated too.  If you are not a sewer, maybe on your next trip to the grocery store you could grab an extra can of beans or bar of soap for donation.

 

Leave a Reply

