Retreat Roundup

It’s time for a retreat recap. But first I thought I would make good on my promise regarding Blanche’s pin cushion.  However, I do need to put a bit of a little disclaimer on it.  You’ll understand in just a second.  Here are the pictures of her pin cushion.       See what I mean about being super organized?  Here’s the disclaimer.  See all those yellow and white pins in the second picture?  That USED to be ONLY yellow pins.  However Blanche decided to shake thing up a bit and mix the yellow and white pins of the same head size.  Really, check it out, they are all organized by the pin heads.  Does your pin cushion look like that?  You have to share pictures if it does.  Really, you absolutely do.  It’s a requirement.

Okay, back to our retreat shenanigans.  We had lots going on this retreat.  Inez and Ruby were unable to be with us so we had to soldier on without them.  It wasn’t a total hardship but they were missed.  Hazel, Sandra Dee, and I were on for dinner the first night.  We love to cook on the first day so that we can get it over with and just enjoy sewing and goofing off.  Wait, did I really say goofing off?  Well, I suppose that’s just being honest.  We had it all planned out that we were going to make lasagna.  Well, I should say that Sandra Dee was going to make lasagna.  Hazel was handling dessert and I was bringing in garlic bread and an antipasto platter.  We always have a lot of salad so I was looking for something a little different.  I can hear Sandra Dee and Hazel groaning now. Well, they can’t groan too much, they had to know this would “make the blog”.  “Make the blog” has become our new catch phrase any time anyone does, well, anything.  However, I knew that something was up when I met Sandra Dee at our local Hardee’s for breakfast and as we were walking in she said something about tortillas.  I suppose I should mention here that I had just had a birthday and you know how the monkeys are, no good deed goes unpunished.  I also know that I have been a big part of some of the bigger shenanigans and sometimes you just have to be the good sport.  So, I just kind of ignored her comment figuring that they had something up their sleeves.  I was right about that.  I just didn’t know what.

As I said, I celebrated a birthday just before this retreat and it was one of the bigger ones.  I turned 40.  Yep, I knew that was something that would not go unnoticed.  I should also mention that I am currently expecting.  Yep, 40 and pregnant.  Does it get any better than that?  Seriously, we are very excited for the new small person that shall be joining our family (and of course the monkey tribe) this winter.  Anyway, Hazel decided to send her husband on a reconnaissance mission to talk to my husband to find out what was pleasing to my palate.  Number one: Spaghetti.  Can’t get enough of it.  Tacos also go well, too.  However, someone had already booked spaghetti and that’s why we had lasagna.  Hazel and Sandra Dee decided that since someone was doing spaghetti that we should do tacos.  Only, they didn’t tell me that they were switching to tacos.  So, here we had garlic bread and an antipasto platter (cured Italian meats, cheese, roasted red peppers, pepperoncini, you know…) and they brought taco meat, shells, and all the trimmings.  It all goes together doesn’t it?  It was a very interesting meal.

However, dessert was the main event.

  Dessert started with this.  Don’t you like the tiara?  I do.  Every woman should have one. They are even better when they light up.    It ended with this.  Lovely cupcakes.  Prune juice.  Tootsie Pops.  And of course a ceramic monkey with a strategically placed nut cracker.  Sandra Dee and her finds at Goodwill, you just never know what she is going to show up with.  He may just have to make regular appearances at further retreats.

 

Sandra Dee and Hazel also had monkey plates and ice cream and monkey party hats.  Yeah, it was a lot of fun and we laughed a ton and many photos were taken.  It was a good celebration.  I love my friends.  I think I’ll just bask in the warm glow that comes with knowing there are people out there that really care about you and do some crazy things to show it.  All in the name of friendship and good fun.  Don’t worry though. There are more retreat stories to be told.

 

Leave a Reply

