Do I really?

This is where I will admit my insanity.  It’s not like I don’t have enough to do and of course I would like to add more to my ever-expanding to-do list.  I know you are thinking, what now? And what really do you have going on since you haven’t been writing entertaining posts for us to enjoy?  Well, I’ll be happy to tell you.

I need an embroidery machine.  Yep, and I just made fun of Inez for thinking this very same thought not quite a year ago.  After all her pile of things to do runs very close to mine.

Let me take a moment to share a little more about myself.  I live in an old home that needs a gazillion things done plus my husband and I are (unfortunately) pack rats.  I may have mentioned that a time or two before.  I recently became a stay-at-home mom for our small blonde son (who is 3) and have tried very hard to be on a kick to get rid of our clutter.  We have made numerous trips to Goodwill to donate and yet it still seems like there is more and more stuff that we don’t need.  I have a friend who is a Garage Sale Queen and has graciously allowed me to bring some of my excess there to make a little cash on.  Which has really been nice.  Now I am stock piling everything I’m finding so I can slap a price tag on it and drag it back to her house in another month for her next sale.  The most glorious thing is that she will have 2 more sales and after her last one, everything else will be heading over to Goodwill.  That should make a serious dent in our pack rat ways.  I am also a Disney-aholic.  Certified.  Bona-fide.  Much to my husband’s chagrin small blonde is following along in my footsteps regarding Disney.

While perusing my favorite online community for ideas to make our next trip even more fun I hit on a group of sewers who were doing some amazing things.  I mean, stuff I would never even dream of trying to do, only now I am.  I haven even gone so far as to convince Inez to show me how to use her serger so I can start making clothes for the small blonde.  I bought patterns at Joann‘s and some fabric and I am raring to go!  Inez might not be as raring as I am, but I think I’m ready to take this step in my sewing education.

As far as my lovely quilting projects go, I have totally run out of steam.  At the beginning of this year I was getting so much done and I was so motivated to get so much more done and now, eh.  I did work some more on that gorgeous fused applique flower from Quilt Poetry.  However, I am a total genius when it comes to this fusible stuff and I kept the iron too hot and on some parts too long and it evaporated the glue on a good portion of some of the pieces.  So, now instead of fusing the rest of it down I am going to have to start sewing it down and I haven’t even picked out the thread to match the fabrics yet.  I’m a bit disappointed with myself and have kinda put it off to the side but I can’t leave it there terribly long as all the rest of the pieces are good to go and I don’t want the paper to start peeling off the glue/fabric since that is where everything is labeled and numbered.  If that happened I would be totally out of luck and would have to start this whole project over and that would be a real waste of batiks.  I’m a better quilter than that.  So, it will now be a really arduous journey for me to get the leaf sections sewed down before I can lay out the flower top.  I just have to put on my big girl pants and get it done.

So, if any of you are addicted to your embroidery machine  and would care to share your recommendations here, I am all ears!

Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

