Yikes that a lot of time

In between posts. What is going on with those monkeys? Well, I’ll tell you.  It’s been so stinkin’ busy!  Spring is here.  Well, it’s kind of here.  It keeps teasing us with some sunny days and then some really chilly days and some dry days and some rainy days.  My dear husband is on a kick that we need a big garden which entails us traveling to his mom’s where there is a good-sized plot to more than feed our two families.  However, we had trees to pull and dirt to till and we’re running late on getting potatoes and peas and onions in the ground.  Plus the sows are having their litters which means his mom has been really busy taking care of that too.  Today my plan is to dig up and split some perennials because I had this “brilliant” idea to turn my small front yard into a flower garden.  Please notice the quotes around brilliant.  Here we are about 5 years later and I am finally admitting that I bit off more than I could chew.  I like to garden, but I don’t like to spend all week or every weekend weeding it.  So, it is getting seriously pared down this spring and the plants are finding some new homes and I will have one less thing to worry about so I can get back to quilting!

I know, that all doesn’t sound like enough to keep me away from WordPress, but I do like to sleep at night too.  Well, I also like to sleep in the morning.  Until around 10.  Unfortunately I don’t have that luxury either as my small blonde boy gets up before I do and is anxious to be busy all day.  Today he’ll be my helper to dig in the flower beds.  I’m sure it will be enlightening for both of us.

In the meantime, I’m not really getting any quilting done for myself.  Inez and I have a business where we do long arm quilting and now that it is spring everyone is excited to get out of the house and get their projects done.  To me this is great because then I can find some inspiration in their pattern or fabric choices and that gets me all excited to go home and get some of my projects done.  Only I have all that dirt to move and plants to plant.   I guess I’ll just have to hold on to all that inspiration for another week or two while I get the stuff outside settled down enough so I can have some fun time inside.  Of course I’m only speaking for me.  I think the other monkeys have been just as busy too.

Sandra Dee retired earlier this spring and she hasn’t been busier.  Blanche has also been busy with the wedding and family stuff and has been looking forward to a girls sewing weekend with <gasp!> sewing friends other than the monkeys.  🙂  Inez is off to babysit her grandkids for a week (and may need a week to recover after she returns).  I’m not sure what the others have been up to, but crazy work schedules and family obligations have a tendency to creep up on us when we least expect it.

Don’t worry though – I’m getting the rest of our retreat happenings prepped and ready for your reading enjoyment.  I really just wanted to say that I haven’t forgotten about you and that we’re still here.

Oh, I also thought that maybe we could do something a little fun.  However I have to do some homework on that first and then I’ll spill the details.  In the meantime, put your Creativity Caps on.  They will be required for the fun.

Leave a Reply

