The Monkeys go to a quilt show.

So on our second day of retreat we had the opportunity to do a little more shopping at a quilt show all because Inez volunteered to work.  Hattie, Hazel, Sandra Dee, Inez and myself piled into Hazel’s car and headed for the show.  The nice thing about Hazel’s car is that it will fit all of us and there seems like a slight incline so that whoever is sitting in the way-back seat feels like they are sitting higher than everyone else in the car.  I think this makes up for not having seat warmers like the second and first rows do.  Lucky for me I got to sit in the Queen Seat.  I almost felt like I was in the Rose Bowl Parade with my attendants before me.  Ha ha!  Hazel has GPS in her car.  However, we all think we’re smarter than the GPS and are not necessarily following it exactly (don’t worry, we didn’t get lost) and when we would not follow its directions it would give us a cautionary message (and this is where my memory fails me…) that we were leaving a recognized area or some similar language.  This, for some reason, made us hysterical as we envisioned the car with cones  and warning lights on top alerting all other drivers that we were lost by GPS standards.    Of course it happened many times on our way to the quilt show and each time we would add more things that should be on top of the car to indicate our ineptitude for following GPS instructions.  It was a fairly silly ride, but to be expected with the group in the car.

The show was nice – lots of variety of quilts to see and vendors to shop and one thing that was a bit unique was that the final row of quilts at the show were quilts and photos of guild members that had passed.  It was a nice memorial.

The other really cool thing was the trash to treasure booth.  You may be familiar with it under another name like snobby seconds or something similar.  Basically members of the guild donate patterns and fabric and notions and magazines and whatever else is circulating in their sewing/crafting areas that they aren’t using any more and the guild sells them to help raise money for their purposes.  This trash to treasure booth was pretty cool because they packaged things up.  There were coffee mugs with coordinated fabrics in them and baskets filled with all kinds of notions and gizmos and patterns packaged together so there was some mystery as to what you were actually getting.  It was fabulous.  Normally things are just kind of laid out on tables and that’s what made this set up so much much more interesting.  I would like to add that they did really well to boot!

Oh, did I mention that we got boas?  We did and green ones to boot and of course some of us wore them to the quilt show.  Hazel took a moment while we were lunching to pose with each of us and her boa.

 Here is Hazel with Inez.

  Hazel with Sandra Dee.

 Hazel with Hattie.

 Hazel with me.  Of course I had to do something kooky.

I think though, that as much as we laughed on our way to the show the ride home was far more entertaining.  At this point I should admit that I am a Disney-aholic.  Earlier in the month I had read a blog (go figure) and it was about Disney and the upcoming Star Wars Weekend and the new merchandise available.  If you are familiar with Disney you may also be familiar with Duffy Bear.  Duffy Bear has a new outfit for Star Wars Weekend where he is a Jedi Knight complete with a light up light saber.  If you are curious, you can find a picture here.  Of course I thought my son would love that and wanted to order, but had to email Disney customer service in merchandising to find when it would be available for purchase.  On our way back to retreat I was checking my email on my phone and saw that I had a response that they were available and that I should order quickly as they tend to sell out fast.  Of course I had to call.  Of course I am in a car full of monkeys and lots of good-natured ribbing ensued.  It doesn’t help that while I was on hold waiting for the next available representative they were playing the Figment song and I had to sing along.  I then had to explain to the lovely Disney Cast Member that I was riding in a car full of monkeys on our way to quilt retreat after being at a quilt show and she was nice enough to play along.  As I was explaining to the monkeys in the car what I was ordering and placing the order, one of the monkeys pipes up and asks if I could order one for her.  So I have to further explain to the lovely Disney cast member that now not only are the teasing me, but now want to order one as well.  She laughed and as she was increasing my order another monkey spoke up that she would like one too.  Then came the tricky part, paying with my credit card.  Hilarity ensued as some of the monkeys thought they could write my number down and some how tattoo it on their leg so they could just flop their leg up on a counter to pay.  I’m not exactly sure how they are going to make that work.  I’m a little surprised that I didn’t end up ordering one for everyone in the car.

I think I mentioned that Blanche is working on a beautiful wedding gown.  Sandra Dee indicated that she had a veil that she could pass on and had asked her husband to bring it out.  Of course he called while we were shopping at the quilt show so she wasn’t there to meet him.   She did explain where we were sitting and who Blanche was so that he knew to whom to give the veil.  When we returned to retreat, we asked Blanche if Mr. Sandra Dee made it with the veil.  She said yes and that he came it carrying it in two hands (no bag) as though he was holding a giant carton of eggs and kept saying, “Wow, this is really something”.  I don’t think that people really understand how retreat really is until they set foot in the building.  Anyway, he was being supportive of her and even packed her car and a cooler for her.  In the cooler were three beers (which we couldn’t drink because we are at a church camp) and he also packed a basket of laundry because it was there with all of her stuff.  We thought it was funny (and sweet) but mostly we just wanted to be able to drink the beer.  Sandra Dee was kind enough to pose while wearing the veil.  Now you can really see one of the Pretty People in action.

Isn’t she lovely folks?  Of course she is, Sandra Dee could be nothing less.

Since I’ve gotten so wordy, I’ll leave you with one final thing and that was Sandra Dee’s new nickname – Tight Butt (or TB for short).  She claims its because she wears panty hose everyday. So, if it works for Sandra Dee aka TB it might work for you too!

2 thoughts on “The Monkeys go to a quilt show.

  1. Blanche says:

    Another tidbit about the bridal veil…Sandra Dee had purchased it at a local thrift store for an unbelievably low price (these things sell for $50 and up in the bridal shops – this one was probably $150 new)…when asked why she she had purchased it, she replied “Well, you never know when you’re going to need a bridal veil.” Now, I don’t know about you, but usually weddings are things that are planned well in advance and not left to the last. I’m thankful that Sandra Dee thought it was worth buying when she did and the veil was available for us to use.

    By the way, the wedding is this weekend and the bride looks beautiful in her dress that was completed last weekend…I’ll try to get some pictures to share with all of you.

Leave a Reply

