The retreat where we did the aluminum foil hat dance.

Well, we still can’t seem to find the cord for my external hard drive.  Whine.  Whine. Whine.  So, I guess I shall have to share with you the retreat where we did our aluminum foil hat dance.  The second (or maybe the third time?) we went to visit Blanche we made aluminum hats.  I know you are wondering why, but Vera, Ruby, Hattie and myself were in the car and (of course) after the lengthy email exchanges regarding at which quilt shop we wanted to meet up we somehow came to the conclusion that we needed the foil hats to protect our brainwaves from reaching Blanche so she wouldn’t know, well, I’m not sure what exactly but it is along the same lines as those that wear the foil hats to protect themselves from aliens.  Of course Blanche was blissfully unaware of this development.  I think I should stop there because otherwise this turns into all about our trip to visit Blanche instead of the retreat involving foil hats.  Of course we find wearing aluminum foil hats hilarious.  The trouble is just coming up with a design for the hats.

We laughed for quite a while about the foil hats and decided that we needed to incorporate this fun aspect into retreat.  I’ll cut to the chase and share the results.

  

Our cast in order of appearance is: myself, Ruby, Blanche, Hazel, Hattie and a photo of us in the chow line.

As you can see we are quite creative.  In case you were wondering the hats are a chef’s hat, a cowboy hat, an easter bonnet, a witch’s hat and a viking helmet.  I’m not sure where Inez and Sandra Dee are.  They may have been hiding since the camera was out or perhaps opted to pass on the aluminum foil hat.

There was no real reason as to why we had to make the hats, it was just something fun to do.  Most of the things at retreat have no rhyme or reason.  It’s just for the fun of it.  Maybe the next time you find a need to make aluminum foil hats you will find some inspiration from ours.

Vera, I just wanted to point out that at no point did I refer to the foil as “tin”.  I was thinking of you the whole time.

Oh, I almost forgot.  There really was no dancing, it was more like a parade but aluminum foil hat dance sound much more fun than the aluminum foil hat parade.

Leave a Reply

