The first time Sandra Dee tried to get even

Once in a while we were all at retreat, we find that we have a reason to go back into town.   Sometimes it’s because we have forgotten something or there’s a work something or a family something.  This time we had a sad reason, but it was something that we couldn’t miss.  A quilter friend’s husband had passed away and we all headed in for the visitation to pay our respects and support our friend.  Well, all of us that were monkeys at that point which would be me, Inez, Sandra Dee and Ruby, perhaps Hattie as well.  Inez and I opted to do some errands while we were in town so Sandra Dee easily beat us back out to retreat.  Once there she decided that she would pull a little prank on us.  She didn’t have much time to plan in advance so her thought was to take an item or two from each of our stations while were still in town particularly those items that we seemed to be using on whatever project we had out to work on.  She was kind of giggly when we got back and we chalked it up to her just being excited about being at retreat.  Apparently we were wrong, but it didn’t take us long to figure that out.

Remember what I said about being able to run with the big dogs and how if you wouldn’t want a joke played on you don’t play it on anyone else?  Well, we were cool monkeys out there on the porch.  Instead of getting angry or going on a hunt for items we simply turned to each other and asked to borrow whatever we were missing.  Then we kept on sewing without missing too much of a beat.  After a couple of hours Sandra Dee decided she couldn’t take it any more and she went and got our stuff.  We all had a good laugh about it, after all this is retreat and we are there to have a good time.

I know what you’re thinking.  This prank was a bit of a let down.  You were hoping that she really pulled one over on the rest of us.  Don’t worry, she comes up with something way better.  Don’t feel too bad, Sandra Dee has not had a lot of practice with this kind of thing.  Although she is learning all the time.

In the meantime I have managed to complete 24 fleece caps and I apologize for the lack of pictures as they have all been sent off to a guild where they will make their way to where they are needed most compliments of their Charity chair person.  I also recognized that I will most likely not get many more done and since they have a sewing task force lined up to make various and sundry comfort caps so I have opted to send them the rest of my fleece so they have some nice soft material to work with.  This does a kind of double duty for me.  I get to donate and feel good as well as get some things out of my house.  What a win-win.

That, of course, begs the question what are you working on now?  Well, I’ll tell you.  I still have a couple more scarves to finish and an afghan that I started but for quilting projects I am working on quilting a couple of quilts that I have patiently waiting to be quilted before making their way to their new homes.  One is a baby quilt in a sampler style for my cousin that had a baby (it’s a little late) and the Figgy Pudding quilt from Moda with fabric designed by Basic Grey for my friend D that was a Christmas present a couple of years ago.  She is an avid scrapbooker and Basic Grey is her favorite paper design company.  I can’t wait to get them both quilted!  I’ll put some pictures up when they are finished.

Leave a Reply

