Holiday overload – let’s get back to Quilting!

As I go back and look over things, I notice that the pictures I posted last time do not seem to be there, which is a real bummer so I guess I’ll have to go do some editing and see about uploading them from my computer rather than email.  However, that won’t be today.

I have been doing some much-needed cleaning, okay, not really, but I’ve been getting ready to start reorganizing my sewing room since I got a new flat screen television for Christmas and that means that I can get rid of the entertainment center and move my desk and and and…well, probably a lot more steps that you’re not really concerned about.  Suffice to say, I’ve been standing in the middle of my room staring at the walls and the piles of stuff that have planted themselves on my floor while trying to figure out where they really should be as well as where I really want that television to go and how I want my desk set up. Tomorrow I will start to figure out what exactly is going to happen in there.  Right now I am saving for an Ikea closet.  If you want to see my inspiration, look here:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/athomesewing/  This quilter has great photos, responds to questions and details everything out so if you are also inspired by her sewing room you can have similar results at home.  Of course, if this room is not inspiring for you and you are still looking for good ideas a simple search for sewing room organization yields tons of pictures and inspiration.

Anyway, as I was standing in my sewing room contemplating  what steps I wanted to take, I noticed my Monkey Journal from last retreat.  After our discussion of this blog, I thought I had better take some notes as events at retreat can move rapidly.  I thought I would take the time to share them with you.  Especially since our guild newsletter is now out and directions for spring retreat registration are contained.  In March we’ll be creating some new stories for you.

Hattie lives with and cares for her 95-year-old mother, whom we refer to as Mother.  While we were retreating this fall Mother had called the butcher for some groceries to be delivered and said groceries failed to arrive.  Mother was also concerned regarding a problem with the screen door.  The butcher arrived the next day and we laughed that Mother may have convinced him to fix the problem with the screen door.  However, since he was late we also thought that she should have gotten some sort of discount or a larger cut of meat, or perhaps as one Monkey suggested, some free sausage.  Conversation then disintegrated into what a 95-year-old woman would do with free sausage….I don’t think I need to go any further than that.  Sometimes we are naughty Monkeys.

Hattie also teased us in emails while we were getting ready for retreat that she was now the proud owner of a dulcimer.  We begged and pleaded with her to bring it because I don’t think that any of us had actually seen a dulcimer up close and personal.  She did bring it with her and we managed to convince her to give us a little concert.  Ruby and Vera came out to visit and with all of the Monkeys present we managed to convince Hattie to play for us.  Ruby and I provided vocals as best we could and a cup was provided for tips.  We also put in some requests but Hattie was not up for The Red Hot Chili Peppers although we did manage to convince her to play Kumbaya.

 Hattie, Ruby and Vera with the dulcimer

 Hattie with her dulcimer and tip cup.

Hattie did put a disclaimer on her dulcimer playing, that as a beginning student she was currently “playing to the level of dirge” or perhaps that was Blanche offering some encouragement for more practicing.  We look forward to seeing what levels are above dirge.  Personally, I’m hoping for salsa or merengue.

Leave a Reply

