Anxiously Waiting

You would think that I am referring to Christmas.  The truth is I’m really referring to retreat.  I received a Monkey Email today from Hazel to be on the watch for our Guild’s newsletter that our retreat registration form for Spring Retreat should be inside.  There is a catch this time around.  At our last retreat in the fall, when we decided that we should have a blog, we were overbooked.  Seriously overbooked.  And there was a wait list.  I know what you’re thinking.  Ladies?  Seriously?  You’re going to a cabin in the woods to sew with your friends, what is the big deal?  Retreat simply is a big deal.  As big a deal as we can make it.  Bigger than Christmas gift giving with our families.  Okay, maybe that is overstating it a bit, but it is one of two times a year when we put everything else in our lives aside and bask in the glow of our Monkey-ness for 4 glorious days.  When retreat is overbooked that means there is a chance that one of us Monkeys may not make it to retreat for this basking.  Since there was soooooo much interest in the fall retreat we now have a new rule to follow.  That rule is that completed retreat forms and deposits need to be post marked by a certain day and not a day before.  Of course that means that there will be monkeys lining up at various post offices demanding that their completed retreat form and deposit be post marked and sent off immediately.  It will be Monkey Madness!  Madness I tell you!  Okay, I exaggerate again.  However, you can bet money that we will all have our forms ready and waiting to be mailed on the day in question.  For now we are just biding our time waiting for our newsletter to arrive with the retreat information.  For now we will have to be content with that.  Well, all of us except for Sandra Dee.  Her we will have to remind and probably print out the form and place it under her nose while we tap our watches and say “Get this filled out and ready to mail so you can make it to retreat!!!”.  That part is not an exaggeration.  Sandra Dee would even agree with me on that.

I’m not sure what my Monkey friends have been working on, I think that they will need some nudging to keep me informed about their doings while not at retreat.  For me, I have a quilt that I am getting ready to put a final border on and another that I just put a border on.  Let me add a couple of pictures.  Both are from the Cozy Modern  Quilts:  23 Easy Pieced Projects to Bust Your Stash by Kim Schaefer.

In the book this one was done in minty greens and browns like chocolate chip ice cream.  It was very striking that way, but I had a fat quarter collection that was coordinated and I opted to use lots of color.  It’s a much different effect.

In the book this one was done with browns/black in the center, tans and lighter browns for the middle and then creams for the outside.  Of course I opted to do things differently.  I do really like that book  And I’m willing to bet that I will probably make every quilt in that book.  Now, however, I am on the hunt for Hobo Quilts:  55+ Original Blocks Based on the Secret Language of Riding the Rails by Debra G. Henninger.  I bought it and brought it home…so it has to be there….somewhere…

Happy Holidays and Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

